Street Art Operation : Massy Art’lantis

Massy Art’lantis

2018

Quai 36 invited three French and a number of international artists to take full ownership of three places in the midst of urban transformation, in the city of Massy (Essone, a department in the Parisian suburbs), in collaboration with Paris Sud Aménagement. These actions are a part of the larger ART’LANTIS project.

ART’LANTIS was born from the real estate project Atlantis in Massy with the ambition to facilitate the lines of communication with the residents during the urban transformation their neighborhood is currently undergoing. Urban artists were invited to relook highly frequented areas to give the Massy inhabitants a new visual landscape.

Alexandra Arango contributed to the “Opale” project, headed by VINCI Real Estate whose creations focused on the theme of changing neighborhoods, echoing the natural diversity and architectural ambition of the site. There you can find portraits, which could belong to adults or children, but also birds and vegetation. The Franco-Colombian’s work can still be seen rue Léon Migaux, across from the future Rosa Parks school.

Roadsworth, however, decided to address a different question: the functionalism of public spaces. He added his special touch by associating geometric forms and primary colors echoing the presence of the adjacent school.

“The work I created in Massy includes superimposed letters and numbers one on top of the other, whose proportions make it so that you can’t necessarily see what they represent. The piece is rather abstract. The idea is for the students and the inhabitants to slowly figure out the meaning of it, with passing. It is a set of disparate letters and numbers and is therefore up to the passerby to determine what to make of it.”

The work of the Quebecois artist, commissioned by the Colas Group and Paris Sud Aménagement can be seen rue Bougainville, also across from the future Rosa Parks school – something for future students to look forward to.

Artez is based in Belgrade, and is primarily known for associating photorealism and illustrations while incorporating a palette of bright colors into his work. For this project, he decided to include a jungle right in the heart of the city and included a person carrying a mirror as a way to make the passersby take notice and see their neighborhoods from a different standpoint.

The artist’s work has been included in Demathieu Bard’s “Reflection” project and can be seen from the Baudot Avenue.

eye

THIS CREATION IS STILL VISIBLE

WHERE IS IT ?

Roadsworth

DISCOVER

Roadsworth

Roadsworth

Artez

DISCOVER

Artez

Artez

Alexandra Arango

DISCOVER

Alexandra Arango

Alexandra Arango

cameraPhotos credits: Louis Delaporte

DISCOVER ALL OUR CREATIONS

SEE ALL OUR CREATIONS
Gare de Viry-Châtillon

Gare de Viry-Châtillon

2018

DISCOVER

Gare de Champ de Mars

Gare de Champ de Mars

2018

DISCOVER

Poissy

Poissy

2018

DISCOVER

Gennevilliers

Gennevilliers

2018

DISCOVER

Opération Street Art : Massy Art’lantis

Massy Art’lantis

2018

Quai 36 a invité 3 artistes français et internationaux à s’approprier 3 lieux en pleine mutation urbaine dans la Ville de Massy (Essonne) et en collaboration avec Paris Sud Aménagement. Ces opérations s’inscrivent dans le cadre du projet d’envergure ART’LANTIS.

ART’LANTIS est né du projet immobilier Atlantis à Massy et a pour ambition de créer un véritable dialogue avec les riverains durant la période de réaménagement urbain qui accompagne leur quotidien. Cette démarche consiste notamment en l’intervention d’artistes urbains invités à s’emparer de lieux clés pour en offrir une lecture nouvelle aux massicois.

Alexandra Arango est intervenue autour du projet « Opale » de VINCI Immobilier. L’artiste a travaillé sur le thème du quartier en mutation, en écho à la diversité naturelle et l’ambition architecturale du site. On y décèle des portraits qui peuvent être ceux d’adultes comme d’enfants, mais aussi des oiseaux et des touches végétales. L’oeuvre de l’artiste franco-colombienne est visible rue Léon Migaux, face à la future nouvelle école Rosa Parks.

Roadsworth, quant à lui, s’est emparé de la question du fonctionnalisme de l’espace public. Il s’est approprié l’espace en associant formes géométriques et couleurs primaires en écho avec la présence de l’école adjacente.

L’oeuvre que j’ai réalisée à Massy est constituée de lettres et de chiffres superposés les uns sur les autres, et dont les proportions font qu’on ne perçoit pas nécessairement ce qu’ils représentent. L’oeuvre reste assez abstraite. L’idée c’est que les élèves et les habitants découvrent le sens de l’oeuvre au fur et à mesure de leurs passages… C’est un ensemble de lettres et de chiffres disparates, c’est donc au passant d’interpréter le sens qu’il ou elle y voit.

L’oeuvre de l’artiste Québécois, sollicitée par le Groupe Colas et Paris Sud Aménagement, est visible rue Bougainville, en face de la future école Rosa Parks, de quoi ravir ses futurs élèves.

Artez, qui est basé à Belgrade, est surtout connu pour associer le photoréalisme et l'illustration tout en incorporant une palette de couleurs vibrantes dans son travail. Ici il déploie une jungle au coeur de la ville et y intègre un personnage portant un miroir, comme pour interpeller les passants et les inviter à considérer leur lieu de vie différemment.

L’oeuvre de l’artiste s’inscrit dans le projet “Réflexion” de Demathieu Bard, et est visible sur l’avenue Baudot.

oeil

CETTE CRÉATION EST TOUJOURS VISIBLE

OÙ LA TROUVER ?

Roadsworth

DÉCOUVRIR

Roadsworth

Roadsworth

Artez

DÉCOUVRIR

Artez

Artez

Alexandra Arango

DÉCOUVRIR

Alexandra Arango

Alexandra Arango

appareil photoCrédits photos : Louis Delaporte

DÉCOUVRIR TOUTES NOS CRÉATIONS

VOIR TOUTES NOS CRÉATIONS
Gare de Viry-Châtillon

Gare de Viry-Châtillon

2018

DÉCOUVRIR

Gare de Champ de Mars

Gare de Champ de Mars

2018

DÉCOUVRIR

Poissy

Poissy

2018

DÉCOUVRIR

Gennevilliers

Gennevilliers

2018

DÉCOUVRIR